“Why I Stayed…” | I’m Finally A Published Author!

So I am an avid reader and I have been writing all my life and I am proud to say that I am now published on Amazon! I wrote a short book of poems and excerpts that follow some of the darkest and happiest times of life dating all the way back to middle school.

Writing is something that comes easy but also is very hard because I excel at fiction but i struggle with putting my real thoughts into post like these. When I make up characters and scenarios, the words just flow and the story kind of weaves itself. On the other hand, when I report my life in a more non-fiction way, I call it “real time writing,” my words tend to become convoluted and take on this start-stop feel in which I feel like I’m reading a first-draft.

In addition, I always love the art of performing as I grew up in church and I am a singer. I was a part of ‘Phenomenal Voices,’ a performing arts and community service group at SUNY University at Albany, and since then I fell in love with the idea of spoken word.

“Why I stayed…” really hits home for me because it is so personal and so raw; but that I know it will evoke strong emotions and hopefully bring back some of those happy memories for my audience. When writing this, it felt like fiction because of the use of metaphors and heavy symbolism and allowed me to really tap into those emotions without having to name names. I love to write fiction and I am currently working on a few novels that I hope to have done by the end of this year or early 2018.

I hope to turn “Why I Stayed…” into a series of about three or four books that fall into each other and allow people to see the real writer behind the great author I aspire to be. If you would like to support my work, you can add the kindle version or the paperback to your summer reading list!

Leave a Reply

